Jail Bait

Well, it has finally happened: I am going behind bars… “for good.”

My sister-in-law “turned me in” to be arrested with her and “locked up” at the Sheraton in Carlsbad to support Muscle Dystrophy.  Yes, folks, I am being arrested by Jerry Lewis!

And I’ve got to confess… I am SO excited.  Why?  Because I am a dork who just loves fundraising!  And I didn’t realize that there were nonprofits who still did fun events like this – events I would consider “throw backs”.  They are in the same category as bachelor auctions (aka prostitution for a good cause).

My generation of fundraisers has been brought up on black tie galas, golf tournaments and other PC events.  And now we are doing online and social networking fundraising.  A big “woo-hoo” to these ideas.  So, I have to ask: When did we lose the “fun” in fundraising?

Because this is clearly fun.  Check out the online “breaking news” story about my arrest:

https://www.joinmda.org/carlsbad/renee

I’m just not quite sure how I am going to post bail.  Apparently I have to raise $800 – which will send one child to camp – to get out of jail.

Leave a Reply

