A sand dollar

Las week, I found a sand dollar on my run. It wasn’t so much that I found a shell on the beach, it was that I was actually on a run. I haven’t been running lately and if you know me, I love to run. It is…

my quiet time

my time to rock out to ghetto rap (yep, this white girl likes it!)

my time to process situations

my time to just dream

my time to get centered and relaxed.

But, I’ve been working long hours with some fantastic clients (!!) and haven’t had the time to lace up and hit the road.

As I headed out, I cranked up my ipod ready to get into my running groove only to discover that I had my “airplane playlist” (read: John Mayer, Jason Mraz, David Gray, movie sound tracks) on it and not my “running playlist” (read: Beyonce, Jay-Z, Biggie, 2-Pac). That’s what I get for spending more time on planes than logging flight miles than runnning miles. I was bummed because I like music with a beat when I run, but as I started pounding out the miles, I began to relax.  Between the chill music and the scenery of the beach, waves and sky – I felt like I was on a mini-getaway.

I don’t know why I gave up running and let work get in the way. It has always been my outlet and release and afterwards, I feel like a million bucks (endorphins!).  And, I even encourage all of you nonprofit warriors to create a work/life balance for yourselves here. Yet, I failed to follow my own advice.

When I slowed down to a walk as I doubled back on my run, I saw the sand dollar. The message was clear:

Sometimes I am trying to sprint a marathon at work. And I need to take the opportunity to pursue sand dollars over paper dollars.

What is your sand dollar moment?

One thought on “A sand dollar

Leave a Reply

